Daylight Saving Time Resumes March 12, 2017

Filed in Government Services by on March 11, 2017

Daylight Saving Time Resumes March 12, 2017

For most Americans, daylight saving time begins in 2017 at 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 11th, when most states spring forward and daylight saving time resumes.

The federal government doesn’t require U.S. states or territories to observe daylight saving time, which is why residents of Arizona, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the Northern Marianas Islands won’t need to turn back their clocks this weekend.

One of the biggest reasons we change our clocks to Daylight Saving Time (DST) is that it reportedly saves electricity.

Time zones were first used by the railroads in 1883 to standardize their schedules.

Hopefully, since we’re springing forward it will feel more like Spring, which officially begins on March 20th. But before you know it, we’ll get hit by a heat wave and complain about it being to hot rather than too cold.



About the Author ()

Aaron Hofmann is the founder of and also a Realtor with Atlanta Communities focused on the Smyrna real estate market and the Vinings real estate market. Aaron is a transplant from the Midwest (amazingly not a native Atlantan) and has lived in the Smyrna Vinings area for over 10 years. Find Aaron Hofmann on Google+

Comments are closed.